The Samurai Art Museum

The SAMURAI ART MUSEUM, in the Zehlendorf locality of Berlin, introduces you to extraordinary examples of samurai art originating from between the 8th and 19th centuries. These treasures include armour, helmets, masks, swords and many other exhibits of Japanese art from that period.

The samurai, Japan’s legendary and influential military class, is widely considered by westerners to be both mysterious and fascinating. These Japanese nobles are the subject of countless myths and legends. But who were these samurai really? And what were their lives like?

Until now, there have been very few collections of samurai art open to the public. With its unique Janssen Collection, the SAMURAI ART MUSEUM gives visitors an insight into the cultural life of Japan in a past age and makes these impressive works of Japanese art available to a wider audience.

In particular, the museum aims to show visitors that there is more to objects such as armour, masks, helmets and swords than just their function. Far more importantly, they are unique, timeless works of art, made with the utmost precision.

 
Armour from the Momoyama period (1573-1615)

Samurai Art

Medieval Japan was shaped by terrible power struggles and blood-soaked family feuds. In this period, a warrior- and arms-based culture unlike any other in the world developed in Japan. Initially, the samurai were simply soldiers employed to serve the emperor and noble clans. Then, through the increase in status of certain clans and the establishment of a military aristocracy, the samurai rose to become a ruling class. They held the highest rank in the military society in which they lived and were an influential force in politics, art and culture.

At the heart of samurai art and culture is their way of life, called BushidoBushido translates as ‘the way of the warrior’ and, in premodern Japan, was the source from which the samurai’s code of honour, moral principles and virtues stemmed. Much of Bushido philosophy is taken from the teachings of Shinto, Buddhism and Confucianism. These virtues were first identified all the way back in the Heian period (794-1185), but continued to develop, becoming properly established during the Edo period (1615-1868). From then on they served as the social and moral code of the Japanese people.

 
A hoshi kabuto, a bowl-shaped helmet from the Nambokucho period (1336-1392)

Each bushi (warrior) thought and acted according to the ‘seven virtues’ of rectitude, courage, benevolence, courtesy, honesty, honour and loyalty. These virtues also influenced the combat skills, such as sword fighting, archery and handling a spear, that were essential to the samurai, as well as entirely peaceful activities such as the tea ceremony (chado) and calligraphy (shodo). These virtues live on today in modern Japan.

The Samurai Art Museum aims to offer insight into this cultural life that is such a fascinating part of Japanese history. In addition to this, the museum acts as a location for encountering and interacting with other cultures.

We look forward to your visit!

 

 

IMPRINT / PRIVACY STATEMENT

IMPRINT

Responsible for the content:
The Samurai Art Museum
Clayallee 225 D
14195 Berlin-Zehlendorf

Tel. (0049) (0) 30 213 27 80
kontakt@samurai-artmuseum.com
www.samurai-artmuseum.com

Managing director: Peter Janssen
Commercial register entry: 186873B
Local court: Charlottenburg

Fotografie: Exhibits by Manfred-M. Sackmann / Museum by Ruben. W. Meier
Design & programming: www.grandshapes.com


PRIVACY STATEMENT

DATA PROTECTION

We take your personal data protection very seriously. We treat your personal data confidentially and according to legal data protection regulations, as well as according to this privacy statement.

The use of our website is usually possible without providing personal information. As far as it is possible, personal data (for example, name, address or email address) will be collected on our websites on a voluntary basis. This data will not be passed on to third parties without your express consent.

We wish to point out that there are inherent safety risks in transmitting data over the internet (e.g. communicating by email). It is not possible to completely protect data against access from third parties.

SERVER LOG FILES

The service provider of the websites automatically collects and stores information in so called server log files, which are automatically transferred to us by your browser. These are: browser type and browser version, the operating system used, referrer URL, hostname of the accessing computer and time of server request.

This data cannot be traced to specific persons. This data will not be merged with other data sources. We reserve the right to check this data at any time, if there is concrete evidence to suggest illegal use.

LEGAL INFORMATION

We would like to point out that the information on this website may contain technical or content errors, and we reserve the right to update these websites at any time without prior notice.

The content of this website may not be copied, distributed, changed or made accessible to any third party for commercial purposes. All published works or parts of works found on this website, for example, texts, illustrations or images, are protected by copyright. Any further publication, duplication, distribution or other use of all or part of these requires the written consent of the Samurai Art Museum.

The Samurai Art Museum complies with the applicable data protection laws in the collection, use and processing of personal data. All personal data provided by you is only used internally, for example, to answer your questions or to process your orders.

This website may contain hyperlinks from third party websites. The Samurai Art Museum explicitly dissociates itself from the content of these websites and is not responsible for their content.

Das Samurai Art Museum

Das SAMURAI ART MUSEUM in Berlin Zehlendorf präsentiert Ihnen außergewöhnliche Schätze der Samurai Kunst des 8. bis 19. Jahrhunderts. Dazu zählen Rüstungen, Helme, Masken, Schwerter und viele andere Exponate japanischer Kunst dieser Zeit.

Die Samurai, der legendäre und einflussreiche Kriegerstand Japans, präsentiert sich dem westlichen Betrachter zumeist als geheimnisvoll und faszinierend zugleich. Mythen und Legenden ranken sich um diese japanischen Ritter. Aber wer waren diese Samurai? Und wie sah das Leben der Samurai aus?

Bis heute gibt es in Europa nur sehr wenige öffentliche Sammlungen, die sich der Kunst der Samurai widmen. Das SAMURAI ART MUSEUM möchte mit der einzigartigen Sammlung Janssen einen Einblick in das kulturelle Leben des alten Japans geben und diese beeindruckenden Werke japanischer Kunst einem breiteren Publikum zugänglich machen.

Im Besonderen versucht das Museum darauf aufmerksam zu machen, dass sich Objekte wie Rüstungen oder Schwerter kaum auf ihre Funktion reduzieren lassen. Vielmehr stellen sie einzigartige, zeitlose und mit meisterlicher Präzision gefertigte Kunstwerke dar.

 

 
Rüstung aus der Momoyama-Zeit (1573-1615)

Die Kunst Der Samurai

Das mittelalterliche Japan war von grausamen Machtkämpfen und blutigen Familienfehden geprägt. In dieser Zeit entstand ein weltweit einzigartiger Krieger- und Waffenkult in Japan. Ursprünglich waren die Samurai nur Soldaten im Dienste des Kaisers und der Adelsstämme. Durch den Aufstieg einzelner einflussreicher Clans und der Errichtung einer Militäraristokratie stiegen die Samurai zur regierenden Schicht auf. Die Samurai hatten in dieser kriegerischen Gesellschaft die höchste Stellung eingenommen und übten wesentlichen Einfluss auf Politik, Kunst und Kultur aus.

Im Zentrum der Kunst und Kultur der Samurai steht die Lebensphilosophie - das Būshido. Būshido, übersetzt „Der Weg des Kriegers“, definierte im vormodernen Japan den Ehrenkodex der Samurai, deren moralische Grundsätze und Tugenden. Die Philosophie des Būshido ist grundlegend durch die Lehren des Shintoismus, Buddhismus und Konfuzianismus geprägt. Die Entwicklung dieser Tugenden reicht bis in die Heian-Zeit (794 - 1185) zurück, wurde aber insbesondere innerhalb der Edo-Zeit (1615-1868) zur vollen Blüte entwickelt und bildete fortan die gesellschaftliche und moralische Ordnung der japanischen Bevölkerung.

 

 
Hoshi Kabuto, Helmschüssel Nambokucho Zeit (1336-1392)

Das Denken und Handeln eines jeden Bushi (Kriegers) war bestimmt durch die „Sieben Tugenden“, die sich durch Rechtschaffenheit, Furchtlosigkeit, Mitgefühl, Höflichkeit, Aufrichtigkeit, Ehrbewusstsein und Loyalität auszeichneten. Auch die für den Samurai essenziellen Kampfkünste wie der Schwertkampf, das Bogenschießen oder der Umgang mit der Lanze waren durch diese Tugenden ebenso geprägt wie auch gänzlich kampflose Disziplinen, wie zum Beispiel der Weg des Teetrinkens (Chado) oder der Weg des Schreibens (Shodo). Diese Tugenden leben auch im modernen Japan heute fort.

Das Samurai Art Museum möchte einen Einblick in dieses kulturelle Leben des alten Japans vermitteln und verbindet damit den Wunsch, einen Ort der kulturellen Begegnung und des kulturellen Austausches zu schaffen.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

 

 

IMPRESSUM / DATENSCHUTZERKLÄRUNG

IMPRESSUM

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt:
Samurai Art Museum gGmbH
Clayallee 225 D
14195 Berlin-Zehlendorf

Tel. +49 30 213 00 27 80
kontakt@samurai-artmuseum.com
www.samurai-artmuseum.com

Geschäftsführer Peter Janssen
Handelsregistereintrag 186873B
Amtsgericht Charlottenburg

Gestaltung & Konzeption: www.grandshapes.com


DATENSCHUTZERKLÄRUNG

DATENSCHUTZ

Die Betreiber dieser Seiten nehmen den Schutz Ihrer persönlichen Daten sehr ernst. Wir behandeln Ihre personenbezogenen Daten vertraulich und entsprechend der gesetzlichen Datenschutzvorschriften sowie dieser Datenschutzerklärung.

Die Nutzung unserer Webseite ist in der Regel ohne Angabe personenbezogener Daten möglich. Soweit auf unseren Seiten personenbezogene Daten (beispielsweise Name, Anschrift oder E-Mail-Adressen) erhoben werden, erfolgt dies, soweit möglich, stets auf freiwilliger Basis. Diese Daten werden ohne Ihre ausdrückliche Zustimmung nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.

Wir weisen darauf hin, dass die Datenübertragung im Internet (z.B. bei der Kommunikation per E-Mail) Sicherheitslücken aufweisen kann. Ein lückenloser Schutz der Daten vor dem Zugriff durch Dritte ist nicht möglich.

SERVER-LOG-FILES

Der Provider der Seiten erhebt und speichert automatisch Informationen in sogenannten Server-Log Files, die Ihr Browser automatisch an uns übermittelt. Dies sind: Browsertyp und Browserversion, verwendetes Betriebssystem, Referrer URL, Hostname des zugreifenden Rechners und Uhrzeit der Serveranfrage.

Diese Daten sind nicht bestimmten Personen zuordenbar. Eine Zusammenführung dieser Daten mit anderen Datenquellen wird nicht vorgenommen. Wir behalten uns vor, diese Daten nachträglich zu prüfen, wenn uns konkrete Anhaltspunkte für eine rechtswidrige Nutzung bekannt werden.

RECHTLICHE HINWEISE

Wir möchten darauf hinweisen, dass Informationen auf dieser Webseite technische oder inhaltliche Fehler enthalten können und wir uns vorbehalten, diese Webseiten jederzeit und ohne Ankündigung zu aktualisieren.

Der Inhalt dieser Webseite darf nicht zu kommerziellen Zwecken kopiert, verbreitet, verändert oder Dritten zugänglich gemacht werden. Alle auf diesen Internetseiten veröffentlichten Werke oder Werkteile wie beispielsweise Texte, Illustrationen oder Bilder sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Jede weitere Veröffentlichung, Vervielfältigung, Verbreitung oder sonstige Nutzung – auch auszugsweise – bedarf der schriftlichen Genehmigung des Samurai Art Museums.

Das Samurai Art Museum beachtet bei der Erhebung, bei der Nutzung und bei der Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten die anwendbaren datenschutzrechtlichen Bestimmungen. Von Ihnen zur Verfügung gestellte personenbezogene Daten werden nur intern verwendet, etwa um Ihre Anfragen zu beantworten oder Ihre Aufträge zu bearbeiten.

Diese Webseite kann Hyperlinks auf Webseiten Dritter enthalten. Das Samurai Art Museum distanziert sich ausdrücklich von den Inhalten dieser Webseiten und ist für deren Inhalte nicht verantwortlich.